Goodnight sweet Prince…

Purple Rain set the world on fire, but Prince was more than just that movie or that album, and while I may be slightly more than a casual fan, by no means did I know his entire catalogue or deeper cuts. I consider myself lucky to have seen him in concert a couple of times, including a very intimate show at the Vogue Theatre in Vancouver back in 2013, which admittedly wasn’t my favourite show for a few reasons…unimportant now. But looking back now as I try to absorb the news of his death today, I’m so grateful to have had the opportunity to see his genius at work.

His performance of Purple Rain at the 1985 American Music Awards is the first thing I watched when I got home from work today, and is arguably one of the best performances I have ever seen on an awards show; to this day, it never ceases to give me goosebumps.

Goodnight sweet Prince, you were a guitar God, magnificently eccentric and one of a kind.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

